Citrix ADC

Licensing overview

Citrix offers a wide range of product editions and licensing models for MPX and VPX appliances, to meet your organization’s need.

For proper operation of a Citrix ADC appliance, it must have one of the Citrix ADC family edition licenses. The ADC product line has three family editions:

  • Standard Edition
  • Advanced Edition
  • Premium Edition

For more information, see the Citrix ADC data sheet.

After you’ve selected the Citrix ADC edition, you can select one of the MPX and VPX licensing offerings. Based on the criteria such as perpetual and subscription (yearly and hourly subscription), vCPU and bandwidth, on-premises and cloud, and so on.

Citrix ADC VPX licenses

The following are VPX-specific licenses.

Citrix ADC VPX Express license

Starting with Citrix ADC release 12.0 56.20, VPX Express for on-premises and cloud deployments does not require a license file and it comes with the following features:

  • 20 Mbps bandwidth
  • All ADC standard license features, except Citrix Gateway and L4 and L7 defenses
  • Maximum 250 SSL sessions
  • 20 Mbps SSL throughput

You can upgrade the VPX Express License to the following two options:

  1. A standalone Citrix ADC VPX license

  2. Citrix ADC Pooled Capacity license for VPX instances. For more information, see Citrix ADC Pooled Capacity.


Clustering is available in Standard edition for VPX public cloud, and in VPX Express license.

Citrix ADC VPX pooled capacity license

You can use Citrix Application Delivery Management (ADM) to create a licensing framework that comprises a common bandwidth and instance pool. For complete information, see Citrix ADC pooled capacity.

The Citrix Licensing System

How to Allocate Citrix ADC VPX Licenses

VPX licensing on cloud

VPX deployment is supported on public cloud providers such as Azure, AWS, and Google. For more information, see the following documents:

Licensing overview

In this article