Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops

WCAG 2.0 Voluntary Product Accessibility Templates

Section 508 compliance and WCAG 2.0 commitment

Citrix is committed to making technology accessible to everyone. We are currently engaged in high-priority initiatives to design and engineer products with a focus on improved usability and accessibility for all customers, with or without a disability. Citrix is committed to supporting well known accessibility standards including Section 508 compliance and WCAG 2.0.

Harmonization of Section 508 compliance and WCAG 2.0

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) developed the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines or WCAG. It is a globally recognized standard ISO/IEC 40500 that provides a range of stipulations for making web content more accessible. On the domestic United States front, there is a similar requirement as well. Section 508 is part of the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) that comes from the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Like WCAG, its primary objective is to provide equivalent access to, and use of the Federal agencies’ electronic and information technology (ICT) by individuals with disabilities. In January 2017, the Access Board published a rule to harmonize Section 508 and WCAG 2.0. As a result, Citrix is focusing more on the most recent updates to WCAG in order to provide the most accessible products to our customers.

Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) documents

VPAT documents for various Citrix products and components are available for download from

WCAG 2.0 Voluntary Product Accessibility Templates