Administration Console can use License Administration users, local Windows
users and groups, and Active Directory users and groups. The Simple License
Service can use local Windows users and groups and Active Directory users and
groups. The License Administration Console manages them all. These users are
not connected to the computer's local users.
Directory users and groups are part of an Active Directory/network
authentication system. To support Active Directory users and groups, the
Windows license server must be a member of a Microsoft Active Directory domain
and must be running the License Administration Console. Windows NT domains are
configured with local roles or Active Directory roles for adding users and
groups. All users are created as administrators and can:
- View the Dashboard for
license activity and alerts.
- Change their own password.
Active Directory users and groups do not have passwords associated with them.
They contact Active Directory to be authorized and follow standard Active
Directory user password policies.
- Select a console display
- View system information.
- Add and delete users and
expire their passwords. You can expire passwords for local users only.
- Configure alerts.
- Configure the license
- Configure the vendor
- Stop the license server
after you have made changes to it.
- Configure the
and add licenses with, the Simple License Service.
must enter user name and password when opening the Administration area.
Settings in Server Configuration allow you to optionally secure the Dashboard
by requiring users to log on. If Password Protected Dashboard is enabled ALL
users accessing the License Administration Console must log on.
What types of accounts
are added at installation
installation of the License Administration Console, accounts are added based on
machine membership. For workgroup machine installations,
BUILTIN\Administrator are added. For Active Directory
BUILTIN\Administrator are added. You can remove any of
these accounts after installation, but ensure that there is at least one
Note: If an
"admin" user remains after an upgrade, the domain administrator can delete that