Product Documentation

How to Import Backed up Configuration Package into the Configuration Editor

Aug 09, 2017

In some cases, you might want to revert to an earlier version of a Configuration Package. If you have saved a copy of the earlier version to your local PC, you can import it back into the Configuration Editor, and then open it for editing. If this is not an initial deployment, you can also import an existing Configuration Package from the global Change Management inbox on the current MCN. Instructions for both of these procedures are provided below.

To import a Configuration Package, do the following:

  1. Open the Configuration Editor.

          To open the editor, do the following:

          a.  Select the Configuration tab at the top of the page to open the Configuration navigation tree (left pane).

          b.  In the navigation tree, click + to the left of the Virtual WAN branch to open that branch.

          c.  In the Virtual WAN branch, select Configuration Editor.

     2.  In the Configuration Editor menu bar, click Import.

localized image

          The Import Virtual WAN Configuration dialog box appears.

localized image

     3.  Select the location from which to import the package.

          -  To import a Configuration Package from Change Management: Select the package from the From Change Management drop down menu (top left corner).

          -  To import a Configuration Package from your local PC: Click Browse to open a file browser on your local PC. Select the file and click OK.

     4.  Select the import destination (if applicable).

          If a Configuration Package is already open in the Configuration Editor, then the Import to: drop down menu will be available.

localized image

          Select one of the following options:

          -  Current Package –  Select this to replace the contents of the currently opened Configuration Package with the contents of the imported package, and retain the name of the opened package. However, the contents of the saved version of the current package will not be overwritten until you explicitly save the modified package. If you use Save As to save the package, select Allow Overwrite to enable overwriting of the previous version.

          -  New Package – Select this to open a new, blank Configuration Package, and populate it with the contents of the imported package. The new package automatically takes the same name as the imported package.

     5.  Specify which network maps to include (if applicable).

          If a Configuration Package is already open in the Configuration Editor, then the Use Network Maps: drop-down menu will be available.

localized image

          Select one of the following options:

          -  Current Package – This retains the network maps currently configured in the package currently open in the Configuration Editor, and discards any network maps from the imported package.

          -  New Package – This replaces the network maps currently configured in the currently open package with the network maps (if any) from the imported package.

          -  Both Packages – This includes all network maps from both the current and the imported package.

     6.  Click Import.

          This loads the imported file into the Configuration Editor, according to your specifications.

Note

If a package of the same name already exists in your workspace, then the Name Conflict dialog box displays.

localized image

          To specify the name to use for the imported package, do one of the following:

          -  Enter a different name in the Package Name field to rename the new package and enable the Import button. The imported package is loaded into the Configuration Editor with the specified name. The package name is saved to your workspace at this time, but the package contents will not be saved to your workspace until you explicitly save the package.

          -  Select Allow Overwrite to confirm that you want to retain the existing name and enable overwriting of the contents of the saved package. However, the contents of the saved version of the current package will not be overwritten until you explicitly save the modified package.

          This also enables the Import button in the Name Conflict dialog box. Click Import to complete the import operation.