Product Documentation

Frequently asked questions about upgrading Profile Management

Mar 21, 2017

This topic contains questions and answers about upgrading to Citrix Profile Management 5.0.

For more information on upgrading Profile Management and how different versions coexist, see the Citrix Profile Management blog.

Important: Do not upgrade from versions earlier than Version 3.0.

What are the recommendations for testing Profile Management?

Test Profile Management before rolling out the software in a production environment. Your pilot must use a separate Organizational Unit (OU), and must not use the same accounts as users in the production environment. It must at least use a different user store.

For upgrades from Version 2.x, note that Version 5.0 marks profiles in the user store with Version 5.0 tags because it uses a schema newer than that used in Version 2.0. Version 2.1.1 can detect the new schema but cannot process it, so it tries to load a temporary profile to avoid overwriting data managed by Version 5.0. This is undesirable in a production environment. Citrix recommends using a different user store for testing Version 5.0.

A new .adm or .admx file is released with a new version of the software. What do I do?

The .adm and .admx files are designed so you can replace .adm files from earlier releases. The existing settings are preserved. You can replace the files in the same Group Policy Object (GPO). You do not have to create a GPO, but if you prefer to do so, see the instructions in Upgrade Profile Management.

For upgrades from Version 2.x, you must not enable any of the new features in Profile Management 5.0 while the upgrade is in progress. Version 5.0 has a different schema, which would be corrupted if Version 2.x wrote to it. A compatibility check was introduced in Profile Management 2.1.1 to help avoid the resulting corruption if this version runs in an environment that also includes a later version.

During the upgrade process, ensure that Profile Management is not running. Some machines have the old configuration and others have the new one, which can lead to inconsistencies or temporary profiles being assigned.

When all upgrades are completed and no Profile Management 2.x systems are present, it is safe to enable the desired version 5.0 features in the GPO. Do this during a scheduled maintenance period, and allow time (typically 24 hours) for the Active Directory (AD) changes to propagate.

How do I roll back Profile Management if I upgraded incorrectly?

This topic describes rolling back from Version 5.0 to any earlier version.

Important: Rolling back to an earlier version has not been officially tested and can be difficult.

The most important step is to revert the schema, which must be done for every user's profile while all users are logged off (during a scheduled downtime).

Each user's profile in the user store contains a file in the root directory called PmCompatibility.ini, which must be deleted. After all these files are deleted, you can revert to the earlier version and restart the deployment with that version's .adm file.

If the PmCompatibility.ini files are not deleted, the earlier version checks, finds that Version 5.0 systems also use the user store, gives the user a temporary profile, and asks them to alert their support desk. They can tell the user to log off and then manually delete the .ini file from the user store.