Product Documentation

Configure workspace control for Receiver for Web

Sep 12, 2014

Workspace control lets applications follow users as they move between devices. This enables, for example, clinicians in hospitals to move from workstation to workstation without having to restart their applications on each device. Workspace control is enabled by default for Receiver for Web sites. To disable or configure workspace control, you edit the site configuration file.

Important: In multiple server deployments, use only one server at a time to make changes to the configuration of the server group. Ensure that the Citrix StoreFront management console is not running on any of the other servers in the deployment. Once complete, propagate your configuration changes to the server group so that the other servers in the deployment are updated.
  1. Use a text editor to open the web.config file for the Receiver for Web site, which is typically located in the C:\inetpub\wwwroot\Citrix\storenameWeb\ directory, where storename is the name specified for the store when it was created.
  2. Locate the following element in the file.
    <workspaceControl enabled="true" autoReconnectAtLogon="true" 
      logoffAction="disconnect" showReconnectButton="false" 
      showDisconnectButton="false" /> 
    
  3. Change the value of the enabled attribute to false to disable workspace control for the site. Set the value of the autoReconnectAtLogon attribute to false to prevent automatic reconnection of users to any applications that they left running. To automatically shut down users' applications when they log off from the site, set the value of the logoffAction attribute to terminate. Set logoffAction to none to leave users' applications running and active when they log off from the site.

    By default, autoReconnectAtLogon is set to true and logoffAction is set to disconnect. This configuration enables a user to log on to a site, start their applications, then log on to the same site using a different device and have those resources automatically transferred to the new device. All the applications that the user starts from a particular site are left running but are automatically disconnected when the user logs off from that site, provided that the same browser instance is used to log on, start the resources, and log off. If there is only one desktop available for a user on a Receiver for Web site that is configured to start single desktops automatically when the user logs on, that user's applications are not reconnected, even if the autoReconnectAtLogon attribute is set to true.

    Disable automatic reconnection of applications at logon to enable users to choose whether they want their applications to follow them from device to device. If you disable automatic reconnection of applications at logon, ensure that the Connect link is enabled so that users can manually reconnect to applications that they left running.

  4. Change the value of the showReconnectButton attribute to true to display on the site the Connect link, which enables users to manually reconnect to applications that they left running. Set the value of the showDisconnectButton attribute to true to display the Disconnect link, which enables users to manually disconnect from applications without shutting them down.

    By default, the Connect and Disconnect links do not appear on sites. Enable the links and disable automatic reconnection of applications at logon to enable users to choose whether they want their applications to follow them from device to device.