Product Documentation

Delete configuration log content

Jun 17, 2013
To delete the configuration log, you must have certain Delegated Administration and SQL Server database permissions.
  • Delegated Administration — You must have a Delegated Administration role that allows the deployment configuration to be read. The built-in Full administrator role has this permission. A custom role must have Read Only or Manage selected in the Other permissions category.

    To create a backup of the configuration logging data before deleting it, the custom role must also have Read Only or Manage selected in the Logging Permissions category.

  • SQL Server database — You must have a SQL server login with permission to delete records from the database. There are two ways to do this:
    • Use a SQL Server database login with a sysadmin server role, which allows you to perform any activity on the database server. Alternatively, the serveradmin or setupadmin server roles allow you to perform deletion operations.
    • If your deployment requires additional security, use a non-sysadmin database login mapped to a database user who has permission to delete records from the database.
      1. In SQL Server Management Studio, create a SQL Server login with a server role other than 'sysadmin.'
      2. Map the login to a user in the database; SQL Server automatically creates a user in the database with the same name as the login.
      3. In Database role membership, specify at least one of the role members for the database user: ConfigurationLoggingSchema_ROLE or dbowner.

      For more information, see the SQL Server Management Studio documentation.

To delete the configuration logs

  1. From Studio, select Logging in the left pane.
  2. In the Actions pane, click Delete logs.
  3. You are asked if you want to create a backup of the logs before they are deleted. If you choose to create a backup, browse to the location where the backup archive should be saved. The backup will be created as a CSV file.
  4. Review your selections on the Summary page, and then click Finish.

After the configuration logs are cleared, the log deletion is the first activity posted to the empty log. That entry provides details about who deleted the logs, and when.