Product Documentation

Configure workspace control

Oct 19, 2015
Workspace control lets desktops and applications follow a user from one device to another. This ability to roam enables a user to access all desktops or open applications from anywhere simply by logging on, without having to restart the desktops or applications on each device. For example, workspace control can assist health-care workers in a hospital who need to move quickly among different workstations and access the same set of applications each time they log on. If you configure workspace control options to allow it, these workers can disconnect from multiple applications at one client device and then reconnect to open the same applications at a different client device.
Workspace control affects the following activities:
  • Logging on – By default, workspace control enables users to reconnect automatically to all running desktops and applications when logging on, bypassing the need to reopen them manually. Through workspace control, users can open disconnected desktops or applications, as well as any that are active on another client device. Disconnecting from a desktop or application leaves it running on the server. If you have roaming users who need to keep some desktops or applications running on one client device while they reconnect to a subset of their desktops or applications on another client device, you can configure the logon reconnection behavior to open only the desktops or applications that the user disconnected from previously.
  • Reconnecting – After logging on to the server, users can reconnect to all of their desktops or applications at any time by clicking Reconnect. By default, Reconnect opens desktops or applications that are disconnected, plus any that are currently running on another client device. You can configure Reconnect to open only those desktops or applications that the user disconnected from previously.
  • Logging off – For users opening desktops or applications through StoreFront, you can configure the Log Off command to log the user off from StoreFront and all active sessions together, or log off from StoreFront only.
  • Disconnecting – Users can disconnect from all running desktops and applications at once, without needing to disconnect from each individually.

Workspace control is available only for Receiver users who access desktops and applications through a Citrix StoreFront connection. By default, workspace control is disabled for virtual desktop sessions, but is enabled for hosted applications. Session sharing does not occur by default between published desktops and any published applications running inside those desktops.

User policies, client drive mappings, and printer configurations change appropriately when a user moves to a new client device. Policies and mappings are applied according to the client device where the user is currently logged on to the session. For example, if a health care worker logs off from a client device in the emergency room of a hospital and then logs on to a workstation in the hospital’s X-ray laboratory, the policies, printer mappings, and client drive mappings appropriate for the session in the X-ray laboratory go into effect at the session startup.

You can customize what printers appear to users when they change locations. You can also control whether users can print to local printers, how much bandwidth is consumed when users connect remotely, and other aspects of their printing experiences.

For information about enabling and configuring workspace control for users, see Configure workspace control in the StoreFront documentation.