XenCenter

Removing an SR

Using XenCenter, a storage repository can be removed temporarily or permanently:

  • Detach. Detaching a storage repository breaks the association between the storage device and the pool or server, and its virtual disks become inaccessible. The contents of the virtual disks and the meta-information used by virtual machines to access the virtual disks are preserved. Detach can be used when you want to temporarily take a storage repository offline, for example, for maintenance. A detached SR can then be reattached; see Reattaching an SR.
  • Forget. When you Forget an SR, the contents of the virtual disks on the SR are preserved but the information used to connect the virtual machines to the virtual disks it contains is permanently deleted. The SR is removed from the Resources pane.

    A Forget operation cannot be undone.

  • Destroy. Destroying an SR deletes the contents of the SR permanently and the SR is removed from the Resources pane.

    A Destroy operation cannot be undone. For information on how to destroy an SR, see the XenServer Administrator’s Guide.

Note:

You cannot remove a storage repository if it contains virtual disks of a currently running virtual machine.

To detach a storage repository

  1. Select the SR in the Resources pane and click the Storage tab.
  2. Note the virtual machines that currently have attached virtual disks on this storage repository.
  3. Ensure that the virtual machines that have disks on this storage repository are not running.
  4. Select the SR in the Resources pane and then do one of the following:
    • Right-click and click Detach on the Resources pane shortcut menu.
    • On the Storage menu, click Detach.
  5. Click Yes to confirm.

Note:

While a storage repository is detached, you cannot start any virtual machines that have attached virtual disks on that storage repository.

To forget a storage repository

Certain types of storage repositories, such as iSCSI, must be detached before attempting to forget the SR.

Important:

An SR Forget operation cannot be undone. The information used to connect VMs to the virtual disks on the SR are permanently deleted.

Perform the following steps to forget an SR:

  1. Select the SR in the Resources pane and then do one of the following:
    • Right-click and click Forget on the Resources pane shortcut menu.
    • On the Storage menu, click Forget.
  2. Click Yes, Forget to confirm.

Removing an SR