Product Documentation

Basic Operations

Sep 01, 2016

Any changes you make to the configuration of a NetScaler appliance are not saved automatically. You have to save the settings manually. When an appliance is restarted, it loads the latest saved configuration.

This document includes the following details:

Viewing and Saving Configurations

Configurations are stored in the /nsconfig/ns.conf directory. For configurations to be available across sessions, you must save the configuration after every configuration change.

To view the running configuration by using the command line interface

At the command prompt, type:

show ns runningConfig

To view the running configuration by using the configuration utility

  • Navigate to System > Diagnostics and, in the View Configuration group, click Running Configuration.

To find the difference between two configuration files by using the command line interface

At the command prompt, type:

diff ns config <configfile1> <configfile2>

To find the difference between two configuration files by using the configuration utility

  • Navigate to System > Diagnostics and, in the View Configuration group, click Configuration difference.

To save configurations by using the command line interface

At the command prompt, type:

save ns config

To save configurations by using the configuration utility

On the Configuration tab, in the top-right corner, click the Save icon.

To view the saved configurations by using the command line interface

At the command prompt, type:

show ns ns.conf

To view the saved configurations by using the configuration utility

Navigate to System > Diagnostics and, in the View Configuration group, click Saved Configuration.

Clearing the NetScaler Configuration

You have the following three options for clearing the NetScaler configuration.

Basic level. Clearing your configuration at the basic level clears all settings except the following:

  • NSIP, MIP(s), and SNIP(s)
  • Network settings (Default Gateway, VLAN, RHI, NTP, and DNS settings)
  • HA node definitions
  • Feature and mode settings
  • Default administrator password (nsroot)

Extended level. Clearing your configuration at the extended level clears all settings except the following:

  • NSIP, MIP(s), and SNIP(s)
  • Network settings (Default Gateway, VLAN, RHI, NTP, and DNS settings)
  • HA node definitions

Feature and mode settings revert to their default values.

Full level. Clearing your configuration at the full level returns all settings to their factory default values. However, the NSIP and default gateway are not changed, because changing them could cause the appliance to lose network connectivity.

To clear the configuration by using the command line interface

At the command prompt, type:

clear ns config -force <level>

Example: To forcefully clear the basic configurations on an appliance.

clear ns config -force basic

To clear the configuration by using the configuration utility

  • Navigate to System > Diagnostics and, in the Maintenance group, click Clear Configuration and select the configuration level to be cleared from the appliance.