Product Documentation

Delete a VM

Aug 15, 2014

Deleting a virtual machine removes its configuration and its filesystem from the server. When you delete a VM, you can choose to also delete or preserve any virtual disks that are attached to the VM, as well as any snapshots of the VM.

To delete a VM:

  1. Shut down the VM.
  2. Select the stopped VM in the Resources panel, right-click and click Delete on the shortcut menu. Alternatively, on the VM menu, click Delete.
  3. To delete an attached virtual disk, select its check box.
    Important: Any data stored in the VM's virtual disk drives will be lost.
  4. To delete a snapshot of the VM, select its check box.
  5. Click Delete.

    When the delete operation is completed, the VM is removed from the Resources pane.

    Note: VM snapshots whose parent VM has been deleted ("orphan snapshots") can still be accessed from the Resources pane and can be exported, deleted, or used to create new VMs and templates. To view snapshots in the Resources pane, click Objects in the Navigation pane and then expand the Snapshots group in the Resources pane.