Delete a VM

Deleting a virtual machine removes its configuration and its filesystem from the server. When you delete a VM, you can choose to delete or preserve any virtual disks attached to the VM, in addition to any snapshots of the VM.

To delete a VM:

  1. Shut down the VM.
  2. Select the stopped VM in the Resources panel, right-click, and select Delete on the shortcut menu. Alternatively, on the VM menu, select Delete.
  3. To delete an attached virtual disk, select its check box.

    Important:

    Any data stored in the VM’s virtual disk drives is lost.

  4. To delete a snapshot of the VM, select its check box.
  5. Click Delete.

    When the delete operation is completed, the VM is removed from the Resources pane.

    Note:

    VM snapshots whose parent VM has been deleted (orphan snapshots) can still be accessed from the Resources pane. These snapshots can be exported, deleted, or used to create VMs and templates. To view snapshots in the Resources pane, select Objects in the Navigation pane and then expand the Snapshots group in the Resources pane.

Delete a VM