Product Documentation

Manage Delivery Groups

Feb 24, 2016

Introduction

After creating a Delivery Group, you can change settings you specified when creating the group; you can also configure other settings that are not available when you create a Delivery Group.

See the following articles for additional Delivery Group management procedures:

Change user settings in a Delivery Group

The name of this page may appear as either User Settings or Basic Settings.

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a group and then select Edit Delivery Group in the Actions pane.
  3. On the User Settings (or Basic Settings) page, change any of the following, and then click OK or Apply.

Setting

Description

Description

The text that StoreFront uses and that users see.

Enable Delivery Group

Whether or not the Delivery Group is enabled.

Desktops per user

(Assigned desktop OS machines only) The maximum number of shared desktops that a user can have active at the same time. In assign-on-first-use deployments, this value specifies how many desktops users can assign to themselves.

Time zone

 

Enable Secure ICA

Secures communications to and from machines in the Delivery Group using SecureICA, which encrypts the ICA protocol (default level is 128-bit; the level can be changed using the SDK). Citrix recommends using additional encryption methods such as TLS encryption when traversing public networks. Also, SecureICA does not check data integrity.

Add or remove users in a Delivery Group

For detailed information about users, see the Users section in the Create a Delivery Group article.

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a group and then select Edit Delivery Group in the Actions pane.
  3. On the Users page, to add users, click Add, and then specify the users you want to add. To remove users, select one or more users and then click Remove. You can also select/clear the check box that enables or disables access by unauthenticated users.
  4. Click OK or Apply.

Import or export user lists

For Delivery Groups containing physical Desktop OS machines, you can import user information from a .csv file after you create the Delivery Group. You can also export user information to a .csv file. The .csv file can contain data from a previous product version.

The first line in the .csv file must contain comma-separated column headings (in any order), which can include: ADComputerAccount, AssignedUser, VirtualMachine, and HostId. Subsequent lines in the file contain comma-separated data. The ADComputerAccount entries can be common names, IP addresses, distinguished names, or domain and computer name pairs.

To import or export user information:

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a Delivery Group, and then select Edit Delivery Group in the Actions pane.
  3. On the Machine Allocation page, select Import list or Export list, and then browse to the file location.

Change the delivery type of a Delivery Group

The delivery type indicates what the group can deliver: applications, desktops, or both.

Before changing an application only or desktops and applications type to a desktops only type, delete all applications from the group.

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a group and then select Edit Delivery Group in the Actions pane.
  3. On the Delivery Type page, select the delivery type you want.
  4. Click OK or Apply.

Change StoreFront information

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a group and then select Edit Delivery Group in the Actions pane.
  3. On the StoreFront page, select or add StoreFront URLs that will be used by the Citrix Receiver that is installed on each machine in the Delivery group.
  4. Click OK or Apply.

You can also specify StoreFront server address by selecting Configuration > StoreFront in the Studio navigation pane.

Upgrade a Delivery Group or revert an upgrade

Upgrade a Delivery Group after you upgrade the VDAs on its machines and the Machine Catalogs containing the machines used in the Delivery Group.

Before you start the Delivery Group upgrade:

  • If you use Provisioning Services, upgrade the VDA version in the Provisioning Services console.
  • Start the machines containing the upgraded VDA so that they can register with a Delivery Controller. This process tells Studio what needs upgrading in the Delivery Group.
  • If you must continue to use earlier VDA versions, newer product features may not be available. For more information, see the Upgrade articles.

To upgrade a Delivery Group:

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a group and then select Upgrade Delivery Group in the Actions pane. The Upgrade Delivery Group action appears only if Studio detects upgraded VDAs.

Before starting the upgrade process, Studio tells you which, if any, machines cannot be upgraded and why. You can then cancel the upgrade, resolve the machine issues, and then start the upgrade again.

After the upgrade completes, you can revert the machines to their previous states by selecting the Delivery Group and then selecting Undo in the Actions pane.

Manage Remote PC Access Delivery Groups

If a machine in a Remote PC Access Machine Catalog is not assigned to a user, Studio temporarily assigns the machine to a Delivery Group associated with that Machine Catalog. This temporary assignment enables the machine to be assigned to a user later.

The Delivery Group-to-Machine Catalog association has a priority value. Priority determines which Delivery Group that machine is assigned to when it registers with the system or when a user needs a machine assignment: the lower the value, the higher the priority. If a Remote PC Access Machine Catalog has multiple Delivery Group assignments, the software selects the match with the highest priority. You can set this priority value using the PowerShell SDK.

When first created, Remote PC Access Machine Catalogs are associated with a Delivery Group. This means that machine accounts or Organizational Units added to the catalog later can be added to the Delivery Group. This association can be switched off or on.

To add or remove a Remote PC Access Machine Catalog association with a Delivery Group:

  1. Select Delivery Groups in the Studio navigation pane.
  2. Select a Remote PC Access group.
  3. In the Details section, select the Machine Catalogs tab and then select a Remote PC Access catalog.
  4. To add or restore an association, select Add Desktops. To remove an association, select Remove Association.