Policies contain settings that are applied to connections when the policy is enforced. Policy settings can be enabled, disabled, or not configured. By default, policy settings are not configured, meaning they are not added to a policy. Settings are applied only when they are added to a policy.
Some policy settings can be in one of the following states:
- Allowed or Prohibited allows or prevents the action controlled by the setting.
- Enabled or Disabled turns the setting on or off. If you disable a setting, it is not enabled in lower-ranked policies.
For settings that are Allowed or Prohibited, the action controlled by the setting is either allowed or prevented. In some cases, users are allowed or prevented from managing the setting's action in a session. For example, if the Menu animation setting is set to Allowed, users can control menu animations in their client environment.
In addition, some settings control the effectiveness of dependent settings. For example, the Client drive redirection setting controls whether or not users are allowed to access the drives on their devices. To allow users to access their network drives, both this setting and the Client network drives setting must be added to the policy. If the Client drive redirection setting is disabled, users cannot access their network drives even if the Client network drives setting is enabled.
In general, policy setting changes that impact machines go into effect either when the virtual desktop restarts or when a user logs on. Policy setting changes that impact users go into effect the next time the relevant users log on. If you are using Active Directory, policy settings are updated when Active Directory re-evaluates policies at regular 90 minute intervals and applied either when the virtual desktop restarts or when a user logs on.
Default values of settings
For some policy settings, you can enter a value or you can choose a value from a list when you add the setting to a policy. You can limit configuration of the setting by selecting Use default value. Selecting this option disables configuration of the setting and allows only the setting's default value to be used when the policy is applied. This occurs regardless of the value that was entered before selecting Use default value.
Default values for all Citrix policy settings are located in the Policy Settings Reference.